Historically used vegetables

List of indigenous endangered and lost vegetables and traditional vegetable varieties

The online publication "Historically Used Vegetables" provides information about 6,998 vegetable varieties, which had been described in seed catalogues, monographs, periodicals, journals, variety lists, descriptions and reports published between 1836 and 1956.

Variety descriptions, cultivation and usage indications as well as illustrations were extracted from these historical sources and are available in this online publication. Furthermore it was examined if seed samples of these varieties are currently conserved in any of the European gene banks (based on the European Search Catalogue EURISCO) or maintained on farm by one of the seed initiatives involved in the project. The identified vegetable species and varieties were divided into the following categories:

Red List: Mentioned in historical sources, not registered any more as official vegetable variety, and seeds are available in genebanks and / or from seed initiatives.

Traditional variety: Mentioned in historical sources and currently listed in the EU common catalogue of varieties. Some of these traditional varieties are listed in the EU common catalogue of varieties as a conservation or amateur variety.

Lost: Mentioned in historical sources, not registered any more as official vegetable variety, and no seed samples could be retrieved. 75% of the varieties examined in the project are considered lost.

The list of indigenous endangered and lost vegetables and traditional vegetable varieties was developed by the Department of Urban Plant Ecophysiology, Humboldt University Berlin. The development took place within the framework of the research project "Extension of the 'Red List of Endangered Local Crops’ to include vegetable varieties” and was funded by the Federal Ministry of Food and Agriculture (BMEL) through the Federal Office for Agriculture and Food (BLE) (grant number 2811HS019).


Historisch genutztes Gemüse (zur Online-Recherche)

Rote Liste aller Nutzpflanzen einschließlich Gemüse

Weiterführende Information siehe Benutzerhandbuch (PDF)

Historisch genutztes Gemüse

Liste der einheimischen gefährdeten und verschollenen Gemüsesorten sowie der Gemüse-Traditionssorten

Die Datenbank „Historisch genutztes Gemüse“ stellt Informationen zu 6998 Gemüsesorten bereit, die in Saat- und Pflanzgutkatalogen deutscher Handelsgärtnereien, Monographien, Zeitschriften und Versuchsberichten aus der Zeit von 1836 bis 1956 beschrieben sind.

Im Rahmen der Erfassung dieser historischen Quellen wurden Sortenbeschreibung, Kultur- und Nutzungshinweise, sowie Abbildungen zu Gemüsearten und -sorten zusammengetragen. Zusätzlich zur Literaturerfassung wurde geprüft, welche Samenmuster aktuell in einer der europäischen Genbanken (Europäischer Suchkatalog EURISCO), oder in einer der am Projekt beteiligten Saatgutinitiativen erhalten werden. Die Gemüsesorten wurden in folgende Kategorien eingeteilt:

Rote Liste: In historischen Quellen erwähnt, besitzt heute keine Sortenzulassung mehr, und Saatgut ist in Genbanken und/oder Saatgutinitiativen verfügbar.

Traditionssorte: In historischen Quellen erwähnt und aktuell in der EU-Sortenliste eingetragen. Einige dieser Traditionssorten sind in der EU-Sortenliste als Erhaltungs- oder Amateursorte eingetragen.

Verschollen: In historischen Quellen erwähnt, besitzt heute keine Sortenzulassung mehr, und es sind keine Saatgutmuster mehr nachweisbar. Als verschollen gelten 75% der im Projekt untersuchten Sorten.

Die Liste der einheimischen gefährdeten und verschollenen Gemüsesorten sowie der Gemüse-Traditionssorten wurde im Rahmen des Forschungsvorhabens zur Bereitstellung wissenschaftlicher Entscheidungshilfe „Weiterentwicklung der ‚Roten Liste der gefährdeten einheimischen Nutzpflanzen‘ für Gemüse“ an der Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin am Fachgebiet Urbane Ökophysiologie der Pflanzen bearbeitet und durch das Bundesministerium für Ernährung und Landwirtschaft (BMEL) über die Bundesanstalt für Landwirtschaft und Ernährung (BLE) gefördert (Förderkennzeichen 2811HS019). Durch den Projektträger Agrarforschung der BLE wird der Abschlussbericht zum Vorhaben zur Verfügung gestellt.


Historisch genutztes Gemüse (zur Online-Recherche)

Rote Liste aller Nutzpflanzen einschließlich Gemüse

Weiterführende Information siehe Benutzerhandbuch (PDF)