On-farm-Management

In the CBD’s definition, on-farm management of resources constitutes a special case in in situ conservation, one in which PGR are conserved and further developed within the framework of an agricultural or horticultural use. This concept originates from developing countries, where its importance with regard to the conservation and improvement of landraces is obvious. In countries with a highly specialized agriculture (e.g. Germany), where traditional landraces have largely disappeared from farmers´ fields and gardens, and seeds of high-yielding modern cultivars are easily accessible, the need of on-farm-management is less clear.

In agriculture and horticulture, planting activity worldwide is progressively concentrated to an increasing degree on a few types of crop, mainly due to the prevailing conditions of competition. Due to a lack of value creation or demand, plant-breeding activities also emphasises the more commercially-interesting cultivated species. If breeding programmes are not continued, a loss of genetic diversity is also to be expected.

Through on-farm management, crops not being processed in commercial cultivation activity can also acquire significance for planting purposes. That way, on-farm management can make an important contribution to the conservation of diversity of species among cultivated plants and also the diversity within species. Directly linked to this is a possible extension of the range of foods available and thus of diverse nutrition, rich in variety, or the innovative use of plants, e.g. for technical or energy-related purposes. If efforts prove successful in using funding measures and encouraging the desired behavior among consumers in nutritional and demand terms, this once again makes it attractive to farmers to grow native cultivated plants threatened by genetic erosion: accordingly, niche markets could develop.

On-farm management could also contribute to the increase of biodiversity in agricultural production by:

  1. increasing diversity of species,
  2. increasing diversity of varieties among neglected cultivated plants,
  3. increasing genetic diversity,
  4. the conservation of historically significant cultivated plants and methods of farming,
  5. the dissemination and cultivation of knowledge and practical skills,
  6. the conservation of niche markets for regional products.

PGRDEU contains the following data on the cultivation of threatened regional crop varieties in Germany:

  • Survey on Grapevine Genetic Resources in Germany 2007-2009
  • Cultivation data on regional agricultural crop varieties from country programmes of some Länder
  • Survey on Grapevine Genetic Resources in Germany 2007-2009

On-farm-Bewirtschaftung

Nach der Definition des Übereinkommens über die Biologische Vielfalt (CBD) stellt die On-farm-Bewirtschaftung einen Spezialfall der In-situ-Erhaltung dar, bei dem pflanzengenetische Ressourcen im Rahmen einer landwirtschaftlichen oder gärtnerischen Nutzung erhalten und weiterentwickelt werden. Dieses Konzept stammt ursprünglich aus Entwicklungsländern, wo seine Bedeutung im Hinblick auf die Erhaltung und Verbesserung von Landsorten auf der Hand liegt. Die Notwendigkeit einer On-farm-Bewirtschaftung in Ländern wie Deutschland mit einer stark arbeitsteiligen Landwirtschaft, in dem herkömmliche Landsorten weitgehend von den Feldern der Bauern und aus den Gärten verschwunden sind und Saatgut von leistungsfähigen Zuchtsorten leichter verfügbar ist, ist dagegen weniger deutlich.

In der Landwirtschaft und im Gartenbau konzentriert sich zunehmend weltweit der Anbau, hauptsächlich aufgrund der vorherrschenden Wettbewerbsbedingungen, auf wenige Fruchtarten. Auch die Pflanzenzüchtung setzt ihren Schwerpunkt wegen fehlender Wertschöpfung oder Nachfrage auf ökonomisch interessante Kulturarten. Wenn Züchtungsprogramme nicht weitergeführt werden, ist auch ein Verlust der genetischen Vielfalt zu erwarten.

Durch die On-farm-Bewirtschaftung könnten auch Nutzpflanzen, die durch die Züchtungswirtschaft nicht züchterisch bearbeitet werden, Anbaubedeutung erlangen. Damit kann die On-farm-Bewirtschaftung einen wichtigen Beitrag zum Erhalt der Artenvielfalt von Kulturpflanzen und deren innerartlicher Vielfalt leisten. Unmittelbar damit verknüpft ist eine mögliche Erweiterung des Lebensmittelangebots und somit einer vielfältigen und abwechslungsreichen Ernährung oder die innovative Nutzung von Pflanzen, z.B. für technische oder energetische Zwecke. Wenn es gelingt, den Anbau heimischer, von genetischer Erosion bedrohter Kulturpflanzen durch entsprechende Fördermaßnahmen und durch entsprechendes Ernährungs- und Nachfrageverhalten der Verbraucher und Verbraucherinnen für Landwirte wieder attraktiv zu gestalten, könnten sich hier neue Nischenmärkte entwickeln.

Als wichtige Ziele der On-farm-Bewirtschaftung in Deutschland sind zu nennen:

  1. die Erhöhung der Artenvielfalt,
  2. die Erhöhung der Sortenvielfalt bei vernachlässigten Kulturpflanzen,
  3. die Erhöhung der genetischen Vielfalt,
  4. die Erhaltung von historisch bedeutsamen Kulturpflanzen und Bewirtschaftungsformen,
  5. die Verbreitung und Pflege von Wissen und praktischen Fertigkeiten,
  6. und die Erhaltung von Nischenmärkten für regionale Produkte.

In PGRDEU liegen z.Z. folgende Daten über den Anbau von bedrohten, regionalen Kulturpflanzensorten in Deutschland vor:

  • Erfassung rebengenetischer Ressourcen in Deutschland 2007-2009
  • Anbaudaten regionaler ackerbaulicher Kulturpflanzensorten aus den Länderprogrammen einzelner Bundesländer
  • Anbau- und Saatgutvermehrungsflächen aktuell genutzter Arten und Sorten